Tags

, , , ,

Allan Lovelace, right, with journalism students at the Society of Professional Journalists awards in 2004.

Viewpoints students wrote two nice stories about my receiving emeritus rank last week and my retirement in 2020 from teaching after 24 years at Riverside City College:

https://viewpointsonline.org/2024/04/24/former-journalism-professor-honored-with-emeritus-status/

https://viewpointsonline.org/2020/05/27/journalism-instructor-allan-lovelace-retires-from-riverside-city-college-after-24-years/

Wow! I am so honored to receive such positive coverage in the award-winning newspaper.

I decided to pursue a career in teaching after writing stories for my student newspaper about a tyrannical chancellor’s misdeeds in the 1980s. I had freedom of the press to write those stories, and so I wanted to give back and protect that same freedom for students and to impress upon them the duty to serve the public with a newspaper that makes a difference.

Viewpoints students went on to media positions including with the White House, Getty Images, AP, The Press-Enterprise and many other news media. Others went on to teaching positions, politics and various other careers. Many said that Viewpoints provided opportunities to develop their leadership, confidence and communication skills. Others said that serving with Viewpoints made them feel motivated to go to the college every day where they could interact with other students in the newsroom and do something meaningful. I felt that way, too, and it was a privilege for me to work with students who were so idealistic and full of enthusiasm.

All things must pass, but life goes on.

I had a lot of help along the way in my 24 years at RCC, including from current associate faculty member extraordinaire Matt Schoenmann. I know that he will do a very good job and carry on in helping the students to develop their journalism skills while protecting their freedom of the press.